Easy Container Vegetable Gardening in 7 Simple Steps (Part 2)

Ok, I admit it…the reason I’m blogging about container gardening is because I received (drum roll, please) the summer 2012 issue of the Gardner’s Supply Company catalog!!

I also admit that after I put my daughter to bed last night, I sat, with my furry orange cat, and read the entire catalog cover to cover.  What fun!!  I’m already dreaming of those tasty tomatoes and veggies!

Here in NC, I don’t usually begin to plant early summer veggies until after tax day.  By that point we are usually safe from having a frost AND I view getting the garden started as a reward after doing taxes.

As I mentioned last week, here is part 2 to our post on Easy Container Vegetable Gardening….enjoy!

Below are steps 5-7.  If you didn’t catch steps 1-4, click here.

5) Plant your seeds

Cover Drainage Hole

In order to prevent soil from blocking water flow away from your plants, use Styrofoam peanuts, rocks, mesh screen, or broken pottery to loosely cover the bottom drainage hole.

Fill container 3/4 full with soil

You want your container to be 3/4 full, but remember that a small layer of Styrofoam peanuts can be added to the bottom of your container to decrease the amount of soil (and weight) needed for your container.

Pour water onto soil and mix

Adding water allows the soil to settle. You may need to add more

soil such that the container is 3/4 full with material.

http://thebestgardenideas.onsugar.com/tag/Garden-Patio-IdeasPlant seeds according to instructions on seed packet

Individual seeds have different growing requirements and seed packets come with instructions which provide information on how deep to plant your vegetables.

6) Water you plants

Watering will be the most important and time consuming part of raising a container garden. Containers can dry out very quickly, especially outside on a sunny summer day. Daily or even twice-daily watering may be necessary.

Check your soil daily

Feel the soil to test its moisture level. If the soil is damp, no more water is needed but be sure to check again tomorrow!

Water your plant

If the soil of your plants feels dry, apply water until it runs out the drainage holes. The soil should never be soggy or have water

standing on top of it. Be careful not to overwater!

7) Fertilize your plants

If you use a soil mix with fertilizer added, then your plants will have enough nutrients for 8 to 10 weeks.  If plants are grown longer than 8 to 10 weeks, add a water-soluble fertilizer (such as Miracle-Gro) in the amount recommended on the package. Repeat every two to three weeks.

Happy Gardening!!

A special thanks goes to Lauren Paynter, co-author.

10 responses

    • Hi Norma,

      Thanks for your reply. I know how you feel…I recently found 16 deer standing in my front yard. Have you tried the garlic rods that Gardner’s Supply Co. sells to help combat deer? I’m thinking of trying them around my containers this year.

      Amanda

  1. Has anybody had luck growing cucumbers in a container? My 3 year old son and I started our seeds indoors a tad too early…we were too excited!…and we still have a lot of snow fall ahead of us here in Maine. Pretty much all of our seedlings are ready to be transplanted but we will have to move them into bigger containers and pots until I can move them outside. The only ones I am really concerned about are our cucumbers. :-\ Any advice?

    • I grew my cucumbers from seed in an outdoor container and they worked really well. I had 4 plants in one very large container. I added a tomato cage to serve as extra support for them.

  2. I am so excited on getting started with this! I hope to do tomatoes, cucumbers and various herbs to start out. Any advice on herb growing? I have done parsley in the past, but, would love to try cilantro and basil.. thanks for your write up!

    • Hi Donna,
      Tomatoes and cucumbers will do great in containers. As far as herbs go, are you interested in perennials or annuals? If you want perennials, I’d try rosemary, lamb’s ear or peppermint. I believe Chives are also a perennial. If you are interested in annuals, I’d recommend basil. Keep me posted on how your garden grows. ~Amanda

Leave a Reply

